University of Wisconsin–Madison

Faculty

Christian Andresen
Office: 222 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 890-3792
Email: candresen@wisc.edu
Interests: Arctic Ecosystems, Remote Sensing, Surface Hydrology, Wetlands, Environmental Change, Carbon Cycling, Geospatial Analytics, LiDAR, Photogrammetry, Unmanned Aerial Systems (Drones).

Ian Baird
Office: 455 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 265-0012
Email: ibaird@wisc.edu
Interests: Political Ecology (predominantly rural); Development Studies; Identities; Indigeneity; Borders and Boundaries; Hydropower Development and Fisheries in the Mekong Basin; Large-scale Land Concessions / Acquisitions; Political and Military Resistance; Marginal Histories; Upland Peoples in Mainland Southeast Asia; Hmong, Lao, and Thai studies

William J. Cronon
Office: 443 Science Hall, 5103 Humanities
Phone: (608) 265-6023
Email: wcronon@wisc.edu
Interests: Environmental History, Environmental Studies, North America

Song Gao
Office: 421 Science Hall
Email: song.gao[at]wisc.edu
Interests: GIScience, Geospatial Big Data Analytics and Visualization, Machine Learning, Geospatial Semantics, Volunteered Geographic Information, Social Sensing, Urban Computing, Trajectory Data and Transportation, GeoAI. 

Holly Gibbs
Office: 425 Science Hall
Phone: (513) 720-2784
Email: hkgibbs@wisc.edu
Interests: Tropical Land-use Change and Globalization

Asli Gocmen
Office: 425 Science Hall & 202 Old Music Hall
Phone: (608) 265-0789
Email: gocmen@wisc.edu
Interests: Environmental Sustainability; Land Use; Environmental Planning and Policy; Urban Planning, Human Dimensions of Sustainability

Qunying Huang
Office: 355 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 890-4946
Email: qhuang46@wisc.edu
Interests: Cloud computing, social media, data mining, distributed computing, natural hazards, human mobility, spatial web and moible portals, GIScience

Robert J. Kaiser
Office: 430 Science Hall
Email: rjkaise1@wisc.edu
Interests: Political events, identification and differentiation, performativity, borderlands, political and cultural geography, geopolitics

Ken Keefover-Ring
Office: 115C Science Hall
Email: ken.keefoverring@wisc.edu
Interests: Biogeography, chemical ecology, plant secondary chemical variation, plant-animal interactions, herbivory, pollination, volatile organic compounds, allelopathy, plant competition, analytical chemistry, terpenoids, phenylpropanoids.

Jenna M. Loyd
Office: 460 Science Hall
Email: jmloyd@wisc.edu
Interests: Violence and health; Feminist geography; Migration detention and deterrence; Carceral geographies; Militarization; Geopolitics of asylum and refugee resettlement; Racism and anti-racism

Erika Marin-Spiotta
Office: 223 Science Hall
Email: marinspiotta@wisc.edu
Interests: Biogeochemistry; Biogeography; Biodiversity; Land Use; Ecosystem function; Climate

Joe Mason
Office: 222 Science Hall
Email: mason@geography.wisc.edu
Interests: Soils, Geomorphology, Quaternary Paleoenvironments, GIS Applications in Geomorphology

Almita A. Miranda
Office: 421 Science Hall
Email: aamiranda@wisc.edu
Interests: Political and cultural geography, race/ethnicity, gender, neoliberalism, (im)migration, citizenship, transnationalism, borders/boundaries, social movements; Latinx ethnography; U.S., Mexico

Sarah A. Moore
Office: 243 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 262-3213
Email: sarah.moore@wisc.edu
Interests: Waste +++Spatial and Social Theory+++Psychoanalytic and Emotional Geographies+++Urban Geography+++Postcolonial Development Studies+++Environmental Justice

Lisa Naughton
Office: 334 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 262-4846
Email: naughton@geography.wisc.edu
Interests: Biodiversity conservation in developing countries; Land tenure & property rights; Attitudes toward wildlife; Wildlife conservation in human-dominated landscapes

Kris Olds
Office: 346 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 514-2265
Email: olds@geography.wisc.edu
Interests: Urban Geography, Urban Planning, Economic Geography, Higher Education, Regionalism, Global Cities, Pacific Rim, Canada, Singapore Link here for further information about my research, teaching and service interests. My Twitter feed is @GlobalHigherEd.

Morgan Robertson
Office: 208 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 890-3815
Email: mmrobertson@wisc.edu
Interests: Political Ecology, US Water Policy, Environmental Markets

Robert Roth
Office: 375 Science Hall
Email: reroth@wisc.edu
Interests: Cartography, Geovisualization, and Geovisual Analytics

Matt Turner
Office: 340 Science Hall
Email: mturner2@wisc.edu
Interests: Environmental governance, political ecology, savanna/steppe ecology, critical development studies, STS, Africa, remote sensing/GIS

John W. (Jack) Williams
Office: 207 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 265-5537
Email: jww@geography.wisc.edu
Interests: Paleoecology, Paleoclimatology, Novel Ecosystems, Vegetation Dynamics, Global Climate Change, Quaternary Environments.

Keith Woodward
Office: 343 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 262-0505
Email: kwoodward@wisc.edu
Interests: Social Theory :: Site Ontology and the Recent Scale Debates :: Radical, Critical, and Social Geography :: Social Movements and Social Change :: Geographies of Affect :: The History of Geographic Thought :: Art/Science Collaborations

Stephen Young
Office: Science Hall 234
Phone: (608) 890-3097
Email: sjyoung3@wisc.edu
Interests: Economic and Political Geography, Finance and International Development, Urban Governance, Youth Cultures, Race and Racism, Men and Masculinities.

A-Xing Zhu
Office: 255 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 262-0272
Email: azhu@wisc.edu
Interests: GIS, Remote Sensing, GIS Applications in Environmental Modeling and Resource Management

Lecturers

William (Bill) Gartner
Senior Lecturer
Office: 115D Science Hall
Phone: (608) 890-3816
Email: wgartner@wisc.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Samer Alatout
Assoc. Professor, Department of Community & Environmental Sociology
Website: http://bit.ly/12poQHp
Office: 336A Agriculture Hall
Phone: (608) 263-0970
Email: snalatout@wisc.edu
Interests: Social theories of power and government; Foucault; theories of border; biopolitics; environmental conflict (water resources and politics of identity); Palestine/Israel and the US/Mexico.

Anna Vemer Andrzejewski
Professor, Department of Art History
Website: https://arthistory.wisc.edu/anna-andrzejewski-biography.htm
Office: 210 Elvehjem Building
Phone: (608) 263-2340
Email: avandrzejews@wisc.edu
Interests: Cultural landscapes and vernacular architecture (U.S.), material culture, and postwar suburbanization

Eric Carson
Asst. Prof. of Environmental Science
Website: http://bit.ly/13x9b0b
Phone: (608) 890-1998
Email: eccarson@wisc.edu
Interests: Millennial-scale variations in streamflow and flooding due to changes in past climates to historic records of landscape change and sediment mobility related to human-driven changes in vegetation cover and land use.

Sam F. Dennis, Jr.
Assoc. Prof. of Landscape Architecture
Website: http://www.la.wisc.edu/ppm/
Office: 42A Ag. Hall, 4259 Helen C. White
Phone: (608) 263-7699
Email: sfdennisjr@wisc.edu
Interests: Social dimensions of environmental design at all scales, children, youth and families and the built environment, community design, planning and development

Greg Downey
Professor, School of Journalism & Mass Communication and School of Library & Information Studies
Website: http://gdowney.wordpress.com/
Office: 5016 Vilas, 4259 Helen C. White
Phone: (608) 225-3809
Email: gdowney@wisc.edu
Interests: History and Geography of Information/ Communication Technology and Labor.

Matthew Edney
Senior Scientist, College of Letters and Science
Email: edney@wisc.edu

Elizabeth Hennessy
Assistant Professor, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies
Phone: (608) 263-6697
Email: ehennessy2@wisc.edu

Mutlu Ozdogan
Asst. Professor of Forestry and Asst. Professor of Environmental Studies
Website: http://bit.ly/12WnWGF
Office: 285 Enzyme Institute
Phone: (608) 262-6302
Email: ozdogan@wisc.edu
Interests: Land-use/land-cover conversion, climate change

Volker Radeloff
Professor, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences & Forest and Wildlife Ecology
Phone: (608) 263-4349
Email: radeloff@wisc.edu

Paul Robbins
Professor & Director, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies
Website: http://faculty.nelson.wisc.edu/robbins
Office: 122 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 265-5296
Email: director@nelson.wisc.edu
Interests: Biodiversity; conservation; political economy; anthropogenic environments; India

Annemarie Schneider
Associate Professor of Env. Studies, Center for Sustainability & the Global Environment
Website: http://bit.ly/1aWGaN9
Office: 206 Enzyme Institute
Email: aschneider4@wisc.edu
Interests: Land use/land cover change, urbanization, human dimensions of environmental change, remote sensing, geographic information science