University of Wisconsin–Madison

Visiting Scholars

Li Can
Joint PhD Candidate with Tongji University (Urban Planning)
Email: 2014lican@tongji.edu.cn
Interests: World city network(system), Global Cities.

Paula Cruz
Honorary Fellow
Email: paularibeirodacruz@gmail.com
Interests: Global Political Economy of Knowledge Production, Globalization of Higher Education, Science, Technology and Innovation, Intellectual Property

Anthony Fontes
Mellon Post-Doctoral Fellow
Email: awfontesiv@gmail.com

Simon Goring
Post-Doctoral Researcher (Williams Lab)
Website: http://downwithtime.wordpress.com
Office: Science Hall 554
Email: goring@wisc.edu
Interests: Interaction between climate and vegetation a millenial time-scales.

Daniel Huffman
Honorary Fellow (Cart Lab)
Website: somethingaboutmaps.com
Office: M390
Email: dhuffman@wisc.edu
Interests: I'm interested in cartographic aesthetics. As insensate machines take over more and more mapmaking tasks, how can we restore the human, emotional, artistic touch to our representations of space? Maps are still read by humans, even if they are not 100% human-produced, and we will be more successful if we do not alienate our audience with soulless productions.

Jessica Lehman
Mellon Post-Doctoral Fellow
Office: 307 University Club
Email: jlehman3@wisc.edu

Kai Liu
Visiting Scholar (Axing Zhu)
Phone: (608) 338-8626
Email: kliu77@wisc.edu
Interests: Digital terrain analysis; GIS Applications in Geomorphology; Parallel Computing

Wen Luo
Post-Doctoral Researcher (Axing Zhu)
Email: wluo35@wisc.edu
Interests: Geographic Information Science; Geometric Algebra Based Geographical Information representation, computation and analysis

Ritaumaria Pereira
Post-Doctoral Researcher (Gibbs Lab)
Office: 1710, University Ave, Rm 144B
Email: rpereira@wisc.edu
Interests: Brazilian Amazon, Nature-Society interactions, Land Use and Cattle Ranching

Lisa Rausch
Post-Doctoral Researcher (Gibbs Lab)
Office: Enzyme Building, Room 144B
Email: llrausch@wisc.edu
Interests: Land Use Change in Brazil, nature-society interactions, environmental governance 

J. Meghan Salmon
Post-Doctoral Researcher (Gibbs Lab)
Office: Enzyme Inst. Rm. 287
Email: salmon2@wisc.edu
Interests: Using earth observation technologies to map and monitor human-environment interactions at continental-to-global scales. Specifically, I am interested in agriculture: its expansion, limitations, resource use, and environmental impacts.

Sarah Supp
Honorary Fellow (Williams Lab)
Website: https://sarahsupp.org/
Email: sarah@weecology.org
Interests: Interested in addressing questions that work across ecological boundaries (e.g., spatial, temporal and organizational scales). My work includes field experiments, macroecology, and computational approaches to studying biodiversity in changing systems.

Audrey Watters
Visiting Scholar (Kris Olds)
Email: mail@audreywatters.com
Interests: Education technology, history of technology, data and privacy

Liyang Xiong
Post-Doctoral Researcher (Axing Zhu)
Website: https://www.linkedin.com/in/liyangxiong
Phone: (608) 571-8018
Email: lxiong35@wisc.edu
Interests: Geomorphology, DEM, GIS spatial analysis

Yunqiang Zhu
Visiting Scholar (Axing Zhu)
Email: zhu275@wisc.edu
Interests: Geo-data Sharing, e-Geoscience, Resources and Environmental Information System