University of Wisconsin–Madison

Faculty

Ian Baird
Office: 455 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 265-0012
Email: ibaird@wisc.edu
Interests: Political Ecology (predominantly rural), Development and Postdevelopment Studies, Identities, Indigeneity, Boundaries, Hydropower Development and Fisheries in the Mekong Basin, Large-scale Economic Land Concessions / Acquisitions; Political and Military Resistance, Marginal Histories, and Upland Peoples in Mainland Southeast Asia; Hmong, Lao, Khmer and Thai studies

William J. Cronon
Office: 443 Science Hall, 5103 Humanities
Phone: (608) 265-6023
Email: wcronon@wisc.edu
Interests: Environmental History, Environmental Studies, North America

Holly Gibbs
Office: 425 Science Hall
Phone: (513) 720-2784
Email: hkgibbs@wisc.edu
Interests: Tropical Land-use Change and Globalization

Qunying Huang
Office: 421 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 890-4946
Email: qhuang46@wisc.edu
Interests: Cloud computing, social media, data mining, distributed computing, Cyberinfrastructure, GIScience

Robert J. Kaiser
Office: 430 Science Hall
Email: rjkaise1@wisc.edu
Interests: Political events, identification and differentiation, performativity, borderlands, political and cultural geography, geopolitics

Ken Keefover-Ring
Office: 115C Science Hall
Email: ken.keefoverring@wisc.edu
Interests: Biogeography, chemical ecology, plant secondary chemical variation, plant-animal interactions, herbivory, pollination, volatile organic compounds, allelopathy, plant competition, analytical chemistry, terpenoids, phenylpropanoids.

Erika Marin-Spiotta
Office: 223 Science Hall
Email: marinspiotta@wisc.edu
Interests: Biogeochemistry; Biogeography; Biodiversity; Land Use; Ecosystem function; Climate

Joe Mason
Office: 222 Science Hall
Email: mason@geography.wisc.edu
Interests: Soils, Geomorphology, Quaternary Paleoenvironments, GIS Applications in Geomorphology

Sarah A. Moore
Office: 243 Science Hall
Email: sarah.moore@wisc.edu
Interests: Urban Geography, Waste, Spatial and Social Theory, Emotional Geographies, Feminism, Postcolonial Development Studies

Lisa Naughton
Office: 355 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 262-4846
Email: naughton@geography.wisc.edu
Interests: Biodiversity conservation in developing countries; Land tenure & property rights; Attitudes toward wildlife; Wildlife conservation in human-dominated landscapes

Kris Olds
Office: 346 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 262-5685
Email: kolds@wisc.edu
Interests: Urban Geography, Urban Planning, Economic Geography, Cultural Geography, Global Cities, Pacific Rim, Canada, Singapore
MOOC-related email for Kris should be sent to globalhigheredmooc@gmail.com

Morgan Robertson
Office: 208 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 890-3815
Email: mmrobertson@wisc.edu
Interests: Political Ecology, US Water Policy, Environmental Markets

Robert Roth
Office: 375 Science Hall
Email: reroth@wisc.edu
Interests: Cartography, Geovisualization, and Geovisual Analytics

Matt Turner
Office: 340 Science Hall
Email: mturner2@wisc.edu
Interests: Environmental governance, political ecology, savanna/steppe ecology, critical development studies, STS, Africa, remote sensing/GIS

John W. (Jack) Williams
Office: 207 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 265-5537
Email: jww@geography.wisc.edu
Interests: Paleoecology, Paleoclimatology, Novel Ecosystems, Vegetation Dynamics, Global Climate Change, Quaternary Environments.

Keith Woodward
Office: 343 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 262-0505
Email: kwoodward@wisc.edu
Interests: Social Theory :: Site Ontology and the Recent Scale Debates :: Radical, Critical, and Social Geography :: Social Movements and Social Change :: Geographies of Affect :: The History of Geographic Thought :: Art/Science Collaborations

Stephen Young
Office: 234 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 890-3097
Email: sjyoung3@wisc.edu
Interests: Economic Geography, South Asia, Youth, Inequalities, Political Geography, Urban Governance

A-Xing Zhu
Office: 255 Science Hall
Phone: (608) 262-0272
Email: azhu@wisc.edu
Interests: GIS, Remote Sensing, GIS Applications in Environmental Modeling and Resource Management

Lecturers

William (Bill) Gartner
Senior Lecturer
Office: 115D Science Hall
Phone: (608) 890-3816
Email: wgartner@wisc.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Samer Alatout
Assoc. Professor, Department of Community & Environmental Sociology
Website: http://bit.ly/12poQHp
Office: 336A Agriculture Hall
Phone: (608) 263-0970
Email: snalatout@wisc.edu
Interests: Social theories of power and government; Foucault; theories of border; biopolitics; environmental conflict (water resources and politics of identity); Palestine/Israel and the US/Mexico.

Anna Vemer Andrzejewski
Professor, Department of Art History
Website: https://arthistory.wisc.edu/anna-andrzejewski-biography.htm
Office: 210 Elvehjem Building
Phone: (608) 263-2340
Email: avandrzejews@wisc.edu
Interests: Cultural landscapes and vernacular architecture (U.S.), material culture, and postwar suburbanization

Eric Carson
Asst. Prof. of Environmental Science
Website: http://bit.ly/13x9b0b
Phone: (608) 890-1998
Email: eccarson@wisc.edu
Interests: Millennial-scale variations in streamflow and flooding due to changes in past climates to historic records of landscape change and sediment mobility related to human-driven changes in vegetation cover and land use.

Sam F. Dennis, Jr.
Assoc. Prof. of Landscape Architecture
Website: http://www.la.wisc.edu/ppm/
Office: 42A Ag. Hall, 4259 Helen C. White
Phone: (608) 263-7699
Email: sfdennisjr@wisc.edu
Interests: Social dimensions of environmental design at all scales, children, youth and families and the built environment, community design, planning and development

Greg Downey
Professor, School of Journalism & Mass Communication and School of Library & Information Studies
Website: http://gdowney.wordpress.com/
Office: 5016 Vilas, 4259 Helen C. White
Phone: (608) 225-3809
Email: gdowney@wisc.edu
Interests: History and Geography of Information/ Communication Technology and Labor.

Mutlu Ozdogan
Asst. Professor of Forestry and Asst. Professor of Environmental Studies
Website: http://bit.ly/12WnWGF
Office: 285 Enzyme Institute
Phone: (608) 262-6302
Email: ozdogan@wisc.edu
Interests: Land-use/land-cover conversion, climate change

Annemarie Schneider
Associate Professor of Env. Studies, Center for Sustainability & the Global Environment
Website: http://bit.ly/1aWGaN9
Office: 206 Enzyme Institute
Email: aschneider4@wisc.edu
Interests: Land use/land cover change, urbanization, human dimensions of environmental change, remote sensing, geographic information science